Sarahgricius's Blog

Life is a succession of moments. To live each one is to succeed.

March 7, 2010

Filed under: Blog comments,PRCA 3330 — sarahgricius @ 6:15 PM

COMMENT # 7

Title of post: Keep Your Hands Off My Doritos

Author: Haley Barnes

Link: http://hkbarnes.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/keep-your-hands-off-my-doritos/#comment-13

Date: March 8, 2010

Haley,
Opposite of you I was cheering for the Saints, but am glad that you recognized that it was a good booster for the city and the team. I do have to agree with you that the Doritos commercial was one of the funniest during the Superbowl. It gave a great twist on reality because it is usually the parents who threaten the kid who is taking their child on a date, but in this case the young boy is warning the guest that he better not put his hands on his mama and especially not his Doritos. In the commercial, it also showed that the little boy found his mom and his Doritos to be of same importance to him in his life. I think it was funny for all ages, but did hear some utter after the commercial was aired that it was “unethical” for them to show a little boy slapping someone else. But people need to lighten up and learn to appreciate the creative way they used to advertise their product. I think it portrayed kids in the right light because I agree with you when you say they say the most shocking things sometimes and since they do not know much, they do not know what should be censored or not. Overall, Doritos “hit it out of the ball park” with this particular commercial.
-Sarah Gricius

 

One Response to “”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Hey Sarah! Your blog is looking great! I agree with you about the Doritos commercial. I loved it! I had seen this commercial a few months earlier than the super bowl.I don’t know why, but it was on youtube for a long time before the actual airing on TV. Anyways, I loved it then and I love it now. I realize people think it was rude to show a child being disrespectful BUT, in all respects, this commercial was clearly not made for them. This commercial was made for a younger generation who would not consider that as an offensive commercial. I cant imagine my mother (who didnt like the commercial) to like and want to eat Doritos.I, on the other hand, LOVE Doritos and loved the commercial.
    p.s. I am just trying to help you out. I don’t think you are doing your blog comments right. All your comments need to be on one sinlge post. You just edit the post as you add comments!
    Happy blogging!


Leave a Reply

